Temples of Kerala: Devaswom Board

Travancore Devaswom Board is an autonomous body constituted under the Travancore Cochin Religious Institutions Act XV of 1950, looking after the Hindu temples in the southern part – in the erstwhile Travancore area- .of Kerala .

      It consists of three members including the PresidentIt is entrusted with the task of administrating 1194 temples in the erstwhile princely state of Travancore comprised in the state of Kerala which were earlier administered by the ruler of Travancore prior to the integration of the Princely states of Travancore and Cochin in 1949 The Constitution of the Board was based on the Covenant entered in to by the Maharaja of Travancore in May 1949 and concurred and guaranteed by the Government of India.  

      Out of the 1206 Temples under the administration of the Board, 224 temples are Major temples. In all these temples there are more than three poojas daily and the temples are opened in the morning and evening.

       There are 456 Minor temples (which are being opened in the morning and evening) and 467 Petty Temples which are being opened only a day.

      There are 59 P.D. Temples

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: